Details in the Interim

Having recently been astounded at how long my blog posts take to write and put together, I thought I would give you a little something in the interim period between full posts. What with a full-time job and 3hr per day commute, two volunteering positions, lots of interests, friends, family and the boyf, I struggle to find time for more than one a week!

Yesterday, however,  I took advantage of a free afternoon and the astoundingly gorgeous weather to take a trip to London town with my camera in tow. I squeezed my way through the Lucian Freud at the National Portrait Gallery and rubbed shoulders with the cool cats at the preview of the new Damien Hirst show at White Cube (reviews to follow).

On my walks to and from these venues I was snapping away at anything which caught my eye. Details have always interested me. The little things which people don’t usually notice. A detail can sometimes be a clue to it’s surroundings, or can sometimes seem alien as it is taken out of context. These were my favourites from the day – I hope you like.

All photos were taken with a Nikon D60 Digital SLR with 18-55mm VR lens.

Builder’s Tea – St Thomas Street, London

Fourth Plinth – Trafalgar Square, London

Jaws Shadow – St Thomas Street, London

Fashion and Textile Museum – Bermondsey Street, London

Discarded flowers – Bermondsey Street, London

The Shard – from St Thomas Street, London

Sun through the trees – Leathermarket Street, London

Paint detail – Lowfield Street, Dartford

Closed down shop – Bermondsey Street, London

Graffiti on Board – Lowfield Street, Dartford

Closed down pub – Lowfield Street, Dartford

Torn St George – Phoenix Place, Dartford

Derelict land, previously Ripley’s Market – Lowfield Street, Dartford

Leave a comment